Page 46 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 46

TR CALL  E3

            Rule 13          While Tacking
            Rule 16.1        Changing Course
            Rule 18.1        When Rule 18 Applies


            Question

            B is on starboard tack at the zone of a starboard hand windward mark. She is half a
            length clear ahead and slightly to leeward of Y. At the mark B luffs and tacks. Y luffs
            to round the mark, and as a result Y makes contact with B while Y is still on
            starboard tack. B protests. What should the call be?




                                                B4




                                             B3         Y4


                                                           Y3
                                                B2


                                                                 Y2
                                                         B1





                                                                      Y1


            Answer

            Penalize Y.

            When B passes head to wind, the boats  become on opposite tacks on a beat and
            therefore no part of rule 18 applies. Y becomes right of way boat subject to rule 16.
            Provided B would have kept clear of Y if Y had not changed course after B passed
            head to wind, then Y fails to give B room to keep clear and breaks rule 16.1.














            Section E - The Windward Mark
   41   42   43   44   45   46   47   48   49   50   51