Page 43 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 43

TR CALL  E1

            Rule 11          On the Same Tack; Overlapped
            Rule 12          On the Same Tack; Not Overlapped
            Rule 13          While Tacking
            Rule 18.2        Giving Mark-Room


            Question

            Y and B are both close-hauled on port tack when B reaches the zone of a port-hand
            windward mark. B is clear ahead of Y.  B luffs to tack around the mark, but the
            presence of Y prevents B from tacking and B protests. What should the call be?






                                                                       B3



                                                       Y3


                                                                     B2


                                                Y2



                                                           B1
                                      Y1






            Answer

            No penalty.

            B is clear ahead when she reaches the zone, and Y must give her mark-room under
            rule 18.2(b). Y must also keep clear  under rule 12. When Y becomes overlapped
            inside B, she must keep clear under rule 11 and must also give B room to sail her
            proper course under rule 18.2(c)(2), which she does.

            Mark-room does not include room for B to tack. See definition Mark-Room.  If she
            tacks, her entitlement to mark-room will cease as stated in rule 18.2(d) and she will
            then need to keep clear under rule 13.





            Section E - The Windward Mark
   38   39   40   41   42   43   44   45   46   47   48