Page 41 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 41

TR CALL D10

               Rule 11          On the Same Tack, Overlapped
               Rule 19.1        When Rule 19 Applies
               Rule 19.2(b)    Giving Room at an Obstruction
               Rule 21          Exoneration
               Definitions      Obstruction


               Question 1

               B and Y are overlapped on port tack approaching X on starboard tack.  Y sails to
               pass astern of X; B attempts to sail between X and Y but there is insufficient
               space and she makes contact with Y.  Y protests.  What should the call be?































               Answer 1

               Because both B and Y must keep clear of X, X is an obstruction and rule 19
               applies. Rule 19.2(b) requires that the outside boat give the inside boat room
               between her and the obstruction.  Penalize Y as she fails to give room.

               Rule 11 also applies and requires B to keep clear of Y. However, B is
               exonerated under rule 21 because she was sailing within the room to which she
               was entitled when she broke rule 11.







               Section D - The Windward Leg
   36   37   38   39   40   41   42   43   44   45   46