Page 36 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 36

Question 2

               Will the answer be different if the contact occurs before Y reaches head to
               wind?

               Answer 2

               Y breaks rule 17.

               In addition, if B is able to respond to the change of course by Y, but fails to do
               so and does not keep clear, then she breaks rule 11. Penalize both boats.

               However, if Y's alteration of course does not give B room to keep clear, then Y
               also breaks rule 16.1. Penalize Y only.


               A boat 'sails astern' (reference rule 17) of another boat if, while sailing on either
               tack, she becomes wholly behind a line abeam from the aftermost point of the
               other's hull and equipment.




















































               Section D - The Windward Leg
   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41