Page 27 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 27
TR CALL C4
Rule 11 On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 16.1 Changing Course
Rule 17 On the Same Tack; Proper Course
Question 1
Before the starting signal Y establishes an overlap to leeward of B from clear
astern. After the starting signal both boats continue on starboard tack, and at all
times B is keeping clear. About one minute after starting Y is beginning to draw
ahead, although the boats are still overlapped. Y heels to windward and luffs
above close-hauled. B protests. What should the call be?
Y4
B4
B3
Y3
B2
Y2 B1
Y1
Answer 1
Penalize Y. Y established her overlap from clear astern, and therefore breaks
rule 17 by sailing above close-hauled after the starting signal. However if Y
heels to windward to slow B, without changing course, she breaks no rule.
Question 2
As a result of Y’s luff, the boats make contact. B protests. What should the call
be?
Answer 2
If B could have responded to the luff and kept clear, but either did not respond
or did not respond enough, she breaks rule 11 and Y breaks rule 17. Penalize
both.
If B responds to the luff but is unable to avoid contact, then Y’s luff breaks both
rule 16.1 and rule 17. Penalize Y only.
Section C - The Start