Page 28 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 28

RYA 1997/2                                         RYA 1988/9
               A sailing instruction that states how a change of course   The rights of a boat that passes a mark on the wrong
               will be signalled, but which does not refer to rule 27.1,   side,  without  touching  it,  and  is  unwinding,  are  not
               does  not  change  that  rule,  and  therefore  does  not   diminished in any way, she is sailing the same leg of
               empower the race committee to signal a course change   the course as a boat rounding normally.
               after the warning signal.
                                                                  RYA 1989/8
               RYA 2008/2                                         A  race  committee  is  not  allowed  to  disqualify  a  boat
               The simultaneous display of more than one valid course   without a hearing, except under the U Flag and Black
               for a class is an improper action of the race committee,   Flag rules. A race committee is not allowed to score a
               which may entitle boats to redress, with any doubt being   boat DNF for failing to sail the course if she complies
               resolved in favour of the competitor.
                                                                  with  the  definitions  Start  and  Finish.  A  protest  is
                                                                  needed.
               Rule 28, Sailing the Course
                                                                  RYA 1993/1
               CASE 129                                           When a course set by the race committee is ambiguous,
               When the course is shortened at a rounding mark, the   so that all boats break, or appear to break, rule 28, they
               mark  becomes  a  finishing  mark.  Rule  32.2(a)  permits   are all entitled to redress.
               the race committee to position the vessel displaying flag
               S at either end of the finishing line. A boat must cross   RYA 2001/1
               the line in accordance with the definition Finish, even if   A leg of a course does not end until the mark ending it
               in so doing she leaves that mark on the side opposite the   has been left on the required side. When a boat leaves a
               side on which she would have been required to leave it   mark on her wrong side, it is only at that mark that she
               if the course had not been shortened.              must  unwind  and  round  to  correct  her  course.  Her
                                                                  course around any subsequent marks, between making
               Rule 28.1, Sailing the Course                      her  mistake  and  correcting  it,  is  not  relevant  to  the
                                                                  ‘string test’.
               CASE 28
               When one boat  breaks a  rule and, as a result, causes   RYA 2001/6
               another  to  touch  a  mark,  the  other  boat  is  to  be   When a course is shortened, the finishing line is at the
               exonerated. The fact that a starting mark has moved, for   line or to the mark that is nearest to the finishing vessel.
               whatever  reason,  does  not  relieve  a  boat  of  her   If the shorten-course signal is made when boats still have
               obligation  to  start.  A  race  committee  may  abandon   to  round other  marks before they  would  reach the new
               under rule 32.1(c) only when the change in the mark’s   finishing line, they shall sail so as to leave those marks
               position  has  directly  affected  the  safety  or  fairness  of   on the required side and in the correct order, unless the
               the competition.                                   sailing instructions make some other provision.
               CASE 58                                            RYA 2002/4
               If  a  buoy  or  other  object  specified  in  the  sailing   A boat is not to be penalized for not leaving a starting
               instructions as a finishing-line limit mark is on the post-  mark on the required side if the buoy laid as a starting
               finish side of the finishing line, a boat may leave it on   mark is not  as described in  the  sailing  instructions, if
               either side.                                       she  has  not  been  validly  notified  of  this,  and  if  she
                                                                  believes some other buoy near the committee boat is the
               RYA 1974/1                                         starting mark.
               When a race committee intends boats to cross the line
               used  for  starting  or  finishing  in  order  to  complete  a   RYA 2003/6
               round of the course, the sailing instructions must say so.   When a boat is on the course side at her starting signal
                                                                  because another boat broke a rule, she is still required
               RYA 1980/2                                         to  return  and  start.  Normally,  she  is  not  entitled  to
               A hook-round finish is contrary to the definition Finish,   redress for the time lost in so doing.
               and  sailing  instructions  are  not  permitted  to  alter  a
               definition. When the course is shortened and a course   RYA 2006/5
               mark  becomes  a  finishing  line  mark,  its  required  side   When the sailing instructions are ambiguous, so that it
               may change.                                        is  not  clear  whether  a  mark  has  a  required  side,  any
                                                                  doubt  is  to  be  resolved  in  favour  of  a  boat  liable  to
               RYA 1986/6                                         penalization.
               When a boat abandons her attempt to sail the course,
               she  may  be  deemed  to  have  retired  and,  if  she  then   RYA 2008/2
               manoeuvres against, and interferes  with, another boat   A protest  that a boat  has not  complied  with rule 28.1
               that is racing, she will be penalized and the helmsman   does not  have to  be notified before the protested boat
               may be liable to disciplinary action.              has finished.









                                                              28
   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33