Page 30 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 30

RYA 1967/3                                         Rule 30.3, Starting Penalties: U Flag Rule
               A  boat  returning  to  start  after  a  recall  is  entitled  to   CASE 140
               consider that the  removal  of flag  X indicates that  she   How the rules apply when a boat is compelled to cross
               has  returned  completely  to  the  pre-start  side  of  the   the starting line by another boat that was breaking a
               starting line.
                                                                  rule of Part 2.
               RYA 1977/1
               A  hail  does  not  constitute  the  sound  signal  of  an   RYA 2004/9
               individual recall  signal.  It  is reasonable to  expect  the   The ends of the starting line are as stated in the sailing
               recall  sound  signal  to  be  equally  as  audible  as  the   instructions, and determine the beginning of the
               starting sound signal.                             extension of the starting line for rule 30.1 and the base
                                                                  of the triangle in rules 30.2, 30.3 and 30.4, unless the
               RYA 1994/8                                         sailing instructions say otherwise.
               In finding facts, a protest committee will be governed by
               the  weight  of  evidence.  In  general,  a  race  official   Rule 30.4, Starting Penalties: Black Flag Rule
               sighting  the  starting  line  is  better  placed  than  any
               competing boat to decide whether a boat was over the   CASE 65
               line  at  the  starting  signal  and,  if  so,  whether  she   When a boat knows that she has broken the Black Flag
               returned and started correctly.                    rule, she is obliged to retire promptly. When she does
                                                                  not do so and then deliberately hinders another boat in
               RYA 1998/3                                         the race, she commits a gross breach of sportsmanship
               When a boat has no reason to know that she crossed the   and  of  rule  2,  and  her  helmsman  commits  an  act  of
               starting line early and the race committee fails to signal   misconduct.
               ‘individual recall’ promptly and scores her OCS, this is an
               error that significantly worsens the boat’s score through   CASE 96
               no fault of her own and therefore entitles her to redress.   When after a general recall a boat learns from seeing
                                                                  her sail number displayed that she has been disqualified
               RYA 2006/2                                         by the race committee under the second sentence of rule
               When there is an improper action of the race committee,   30.4  and  believes  the  race  committee  has  made  a
               a boat is entitled to redress only when she can show a   mistake, her only option is not to start, and then to seek
               clear link between that action and her score. If flag X is   redress.  However,  if  the  race  committee  does  not
               removed prematurely, an OCS boat that does not return   display her  sail number and  she  sails in  the restarted
               will be entitled to redress only if she can show that she   race, she should be scored BFD, and not DNE.
               would have returned had it been displayed for longer. If
               she  can  satisfy  the  protest  committee  on  this  point,   CASE 111
               appropriate  redress  would  take  into  account  the  time   If a boat breaks rule 30.2 or rule 30.4 during a starting
               she  would  then  have  taken  to  return  and  start.   sequence  that  results  in  a  general  recall,  the  race
               Reinstatement into her finishing position is unlikely to   committee is required to  penalize her even if the race
               be equitable to all boats.                         had been postponed before that starting sequence or if,
                                                                  during  a  later  starting  sequence,  a  postponement  was
               RYA2014/2                                          signalled before the starting signal.
               When  the  race  committee  intends  an  individual  recall
               but, while displaying flag X, makes two sound signals in   CASE 140
               addition  to  the  starting  sound  signal,  this  is  an   How the rules apply when a boat is compelled to cross
               improper  action.  However,  a  boat  that  ceases  racing   the starting line by another boat that was breaking a
               before she can see which recall flag, if any, is displayed   rule of Part 2.
               may be at fault and hence not entitled to redress.
               A race committee signal comprises both the flag and the   RYA 2004/9
               sound.                                             The ends of the starting line are as stated in the sailing
                                                                  instructions,  and  determine  the  beginning  of  the
               Rule 30.1, Starting Penalties: I Flag Rule         extension of the starting line for rule 30.1 and the base
                                                                  of the triangle in rules 30.2, 30.3 and 30.4, unless the
               RYA 2004/9                                         sailing instructions say otherwise.
               The ends of the starting line are as stated in the sailing
               instructions,  and  determine  the  beginning  of  the   Rule 31, Touching a Mark
               extension of the starting line for rule 30.1 and the base
               of the triangle in rules 30.2, 30.3 and 30.4, unless the   CASE 77
               sailing instructions say otherwise.                Contact with a mark by a boat’s equipment constitutes
                                                                  touching  it.  A  boat  obligated  to  keep  clear  does  not
                                                                  break  a  rule  when  touched  by  a  right-of-way  boat’s
                                                                  equipment  that  moves  unexpectedly  out  of  normal
                                                                  position.
                                                                  CASE 128
                                                                  If a boat makes an error under rule 28.2 or breaks rule
                                                                  31 at the finishing line and finishes without correcting
                                                                  her error or taking a penalty, she must be scored points

                                                              30
   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35