Page 12 - ROA-PDF-FlipBook
P. 12

Our Performing Arts students were unable to entertain and compete in-person this year, but that didn’t stop them from putting on a show. From full-scale drama productions to dance recitals and music performances, students and faculty came together
to prepare and share incredible virtual performances. Thanks to your support and love for the arts, our performers didn’t skip a beat.
The Sundancers Dance Team competed in Contest of Champions Virtual Nationals, placing first in the Jazz Small Team category and second in Lyrical Small Team and National Classification Small Team. In addition to three third-place showings and a fourth-place finish as a team, five senior soloists, one junior soloist, and one duet received Superior ratings.
Sundancers Dance Team Captain Gabriela Machado ‘21 was awarded the Florida Merit Scholarship
for the 2021 season, an honor that is awarded to one student across the entire state. It marked the second time a Gulliver student has won the honor (Morgan Furnari ‘15).
The Jr. Sundancers competed in the Dance Team Union Winter Virtual Competition. As a group,
the team placed in three categories in the Middle School division including lyrical, contemporary, and jazz. For their lyrical piece entitled “Hope,” the Jr. Sundancers earned first place honors as well as the BE BOLD Award, awarded for mature performance quality and unique team style. Individually, Chloe Lyon ‘25 placed sixth overall and also earned the BE BOLD Award for outstanding combination of musicality and technique.
Middle and Upper School dancers participated
in the department’s annual Dance Professional Exposure Day. Students learned choreographed variations from On Your Feet, Hamilton, and Moulin Rouge from Broadway dancers themselves and also participated in a Fosse workshop, all via Zoom.
2020 - 21 Report of Appreciation
“It was our goal from the onset to showcase our students in a virtual collaborative event, and we are glad it was able to come to fruition.”
- Ms. Gerri Barreras, Upper School Performing Arts Department Chair

   10   11   12   13   14