Page 103 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 103

Answer 2

               Although Y breaks no rule of Part 2, she fails to sail clear as soon as possible. In
               position 1 she is able to slow down, fall astern of both B and A and then sail
               clear.

               Penalize Y under rule D2.3(e).


               Question 3

               When is a boat subject to rule 22.2?

               Answer 3

               Rule 22.2 begins to apply when a boat is clearly turning in order to take  a
               penalty. It ceases to apply when the boat completes the last required tack or
               gybe or when she stops taking her penalty before it is complete.


               Question 4

               When can the umpires take action against a boat that has failed to take a penalty
               correctly?

               Answer 4

               The umpires can take action under rule D2.3 against a boat that has failed to take
               a penalty correctly when

                     (a)      the boat indicates she will take a penalty and then fails to do so,
                     (b)      the penalty was initiated by the umpires, or
                     (c)      the umpires decide the failure was a breach of sportsmanship.

               A right-of-way boat that is sailing to get clear retains right of way until rule
               22.2 starts to apply to her. A boat that interferes with another boat while sailing
               clear, when she has a clear alternative, does not sail clear as soon as possible.

















               Section L - Other Rules
   98   99   100   101   102   103   104   105   106   107   108