Page 100 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 100

TR CALL  L4

               Rule 11          On the Same Tack; Overlapped
               Rule 17          On the Same Tack; Proper Course
               Rule D1.3(c)   Penalties, Rules between Team-Mates
               Definitions      Proper Course


               Question 1

               X is sailing to get clear in order to take a penalty. Y is overlapped to leeward of
               both X and B and subject to rule 17 for both overlaps. Y and B are both sailing
               proper courses and Y will make contact with X if she maintains her course. Y
               luffs when she is two lengths from X and as a result Y and B pass astern of X. B
               keeps clear of Y and protests. What should the call be?



























               Answer 1

               Penalize X. X is overlapped to windward of Y and is required to keep clear of
               her. As Y has to luff to avoid X, X fails to keep clear and breaks rule 11.

               Although the incident is between X and Y, which are boats on the same team, it
               also involves B. It is only because X breaks rule 11 that Y’s proper course is to
               luff to avoid her and this luff directly affects B. If X was keeping clear of Y, Y’s
               luff would break rule 17. Therefore rule D1.3(c) does not apply and X is
               penalized.

               Question 2

               The circumstances in question 1 are the same, except that rule 17 does not apply
               between Y and B, and applies only between X and Y. What should the call be?



               Section L - Other Rules
   95   96   97   98   99   100   101   102   103   104   105