Page 97 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 97

TR CALL  L1

               Rule 64.1(a)  Decisions, Exoneration
               D2.3(g)          Penalties Initiated by an Umpire


               Question

               Approaching a windward mark, Y, on port tack, bears away to pass astern of B
               on starboard. Y is keeping clear when B’s crew suddenly pushes out her boom
               and backs her mainsail, and her boom hits Y’s rigging. B protests. What should
               the call be?










                                                                    B3

                                                         Y3
                                            Y2                             B2


                                    Y1
                                                                                  B1





               Answer

               Y breaks rule 10, but is compelled to do so by the action of B that is a breach of
               sportsmanship. Penalize B under rule  D2.3(g), and exonerate Y under rule
               64.1(a).

               (See also World Sailing Case 73 and call A4)

               When a right-of-way boat continues to sail her course, but through a deliberate
               action that could have no other intention than to cause contact with a keep clear
               boat that would otherwise have kept clear, then this is a breach of
               sportsmanship.









               Section L - Other Rules
   92   93   94   95   96   97   98   99   100   101   102