Page 93 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 93
TR CALL K1
Rule 28.1 Sailing the Course
Rule 44.2 One-Turn and Two-Turns Penalties
Rule A5 Scores Determined by the Race Committee
Rule D1.1(e) Interfering with Another Boat
Definitions Finish
Question 1
What are the obligations on a boat that has finished?
Answer 1
After a boat has finished, if she acts to interfere with a boat that has not finished
she breaks rule D1.1(e). Such actions include luffing or backing her sails, or
otherwise sailing in such a way that may slow the other boat or cause the other
boat to avoid her. However, she does not break rule D1.1(e) if her actions
cannot reasonably be avoided; for example, if she needs to tack to avoid contact
with the finish boat or to keep clear of a right-of-way boat.
Y is breaking
rule D1.1(e) Y
B
X
Question 2
Is there a required side of the finishing line to complete a penalty?
Answer 2
No. The only requirement is that after the penalty is completed, the boat must
sail completely on the course side of the finishing line before she crosses the
finishing line to finish. See diagram.
Section K - The Finish

