Page 88 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 88

TR CALL  J5


               Rule 10          On Opposite Tacks
               Rule 11          On the Same Tack, Overlapped
               Rule 17          On the Same Tack; Proper Course
               Rule 18.2        Giving Mark-Room
               Rule D1.1(c)  Deletion of Rule 18.4
               Definitions      Overlap

               Question

               Y and B are overlapped, running on port tack towards a leeward mark to be left
               to port. When inside the zone, Y gybes onto starboard and changes course
               towards B. B is forced to gybe, and  Y then luffs B away from the mark. B
               protests. What should the call be?




                                                                      Y1


                                                  B1
                                                                       Y2
                                                    B2


                                                     B3
                                                                       Y3
                                                   B4
                                                                     Y4
                                              B5

                                                                Y5




               Answer

               No penalty.

               From position 2, B is required to give Y mark-room.

               When Y gybes she acquires right of way and B must now also keep clear. Rule
               18.4 is deleted by rule D1.1(c), so Y is under no obligation to gybe. Rule 17
               does not apply and Y may sail above her proper course.

               Y is entitled to luff from position 3 provided she gives B room to keep clear.





               Section J - The Leeward Mark
   83   84   85   86   87   88   89   90   91   92   93