Page 84 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 84

TR CALL  J1


               Rule 18.1        When Rule 18 Applies
               Rule 18.2        Giving Mark-Room

               Question

               B and Y are overlapped, broad reaching on port tack towards a leeward mark,
               which is to be left to port. Y has no proper course restriction, and is steering a
               course approximately 1½ lengths to windward of the mark. Y maintains her
               course until she is 1½ lengths from the mark, then gybes to give B mark-room.
               B protests. What should the call be?




                                        B1

                                                       B2
                                      Y1


                                                     Y2
                                                                      B3


                                                      Y3









               Answer

               Penalize Y.

               Rule 18 starts to apply when one of the boats enters the zone. From that moment
               Y must sail a course to give B mark-room. By maintaining her course to position
               2, Y breaks rule 18.2(b).

               It is not significant whether or not B hails for room.


               A boat required to give mark-room is required to do so from the time rule 18
               starts to apply.






               Section J - The Leeward Mark
   79   80   81   82   83   84   85   86   87   88   89