Page 81 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 81

TR CALL  H3

               Rule 17          On the Same Tack; Proper Course
               Rule D1.1(c)  Deletion of rule 18.4


               Question

               When five lengths from a gybe mark to be left to starboard, Y, sailing faster,
               establishes an overlap from astern three lengths to leeward of B. Although Y’s
               proper course is to gybe to round the mark, she sails B away from the mark. B
               protests. What should the call be?



                                            Y1
                                                                                   B1


                                                       Y2
                                                                                     B2

                                                                   Y3
                                                                                       B3


                                                                                           B4
                                                                         Y4











               Answer

               No penalty.

               Because the overlap is established when Y and B are more than two hull lengths
               apart, rule 17 does not apply and Y may sail above her proper course. Rule 18.4
               does not apply (see rule D1.1(c)), and therefore Y may delay her gybe in order
               to sail B away from the mark.













               Section H - The Gybe Mark
   76   77   78   79   80   81   82   83   84   85   86