Page 85 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 85

TR CALL  J2


               Rule 11          On the Same Tack, Overlapped
               Rule 18.2        Giving Mark-Room
               Rule 21          Exoneration
               Definition       Mark-Room


               Question

               B and Y are approaching a leeward mark to be left to starboard. When B reaches
               the zone she is clear ahead of Y. B bears away and at position 2 Y gains a
               leeward overlap. B maintains her course and a short time later Y needs to alter
               course to avoid her. Y protests. What should the call be?








                                                                  B1


                                                                                      Y1
                                                         B2
                                                                             Y2



                                               B3


                                                                Y3





               Answer

               Penalize B.

               When B reaches the zone, rule 18 starts to apply and Y is required to give B
               mark-room, which she does. From position 2, B is windward boat and must keep
               clear of Y under rule 11. B fails to do so and breaks rule 11. The answer is the
               same if the boats are overlapped at position 1.

               Mark-room includes room for B to sail to the mark, but because she is sailing
               below her course to the mark she is not sailing within the mark-room to which
               she is entitled and cannot be exonerated under rule 21 for breaking rule 11.





               Section J - The Leeward Mark
   80   81   82   83   84   85   86   87   88   89   90