Page 87 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 87

TR CALL  J4

               Rule 10          On Opposite Tacks
               Rule 18.1        When Rule 18 Applies
               Rule 18.2        Giving Mark-Room


               Question

               Boats Y on port tack and B on starboard are sailing parallel courses on a run and
               are approaching a starboard-hand leeward mark. Y is clear ahead when she
               reaches the zone. Y slows and B becomes overlapped outside her. Y now sails
               past the mark and luffs slightly. B has  to change course and protests. What
               should the call be?




                                                                 B1





                                                  Y1
                                                                  B2


                                                  Y2
                                                                  B3


                                                    Y3
                                                                      B4


                                                          Y4



               Answer

               Penalize Y.

               When Y reaches the zone, she is on port tack and must keep clear. However, she
               is entitled to mark-room under rule 18.2(b).

               At position 2, Y is sailing her course to the mark and the obligation on B to give
               her mark-room remains.

               After position 3, Y is no longer sailing to the mark, nor is she rounding it. Y
               must keep clear under rule 10, and by causing B to change course Y fails to keep
               clear.


               Section J - The Leeward Mark
   82   83   84   85   86   87   88   89   90   91   92