Page 89 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 89

TR CALL J6

               Rule 17          On the Same Tack; Proper Course
               Rule 18.1        When Rule 18 Applies
               Definitions    Overlap


               Question 1

               Y and B are overlapped and approaching a leeward mark that is to be left to
               port. Rule 17 does not apply to Y. At position 3, B luffs and breaks the overlap.
               At position 4, B gybes onto port and, before she changes tack, the boats become
               overlapped again.  Y maintains her course and hails ‘Starboard’. B gybes to
               keep clear. There is a valid protest. What should the call be?




                                                                           B







                                                                                       Y
















               Answer 1

               No penalty. B bears away before gybing at position 4, and creates a new
               overlap. For a very short time B and Y are on the same tack, during which time
               Y is required by rule 17 not to sail above her proper course. When almost
               immediately thereafter B changes tack (position 4), rule 17 ceases to apply and
               remains inapplicable while the boats remain overlapped.

               Question 2

               Would the answer be the same if neither boat were in the zone?

               Answer 2

               Yes



               Section J - The Leeward Mark
   84   85   86   87   88   89   90   91   92   93   94