Page 94 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 94

Question 3

               May a boat that has to take a penalty sail round a finishing mark while executing
               the penalty?

               Answer 3
               Yes. No rule prohibits this and her course still complies with rule 28.1. However
               she must complete the penalty before she re-crosses the finishing line to finish.





                                               Y starts penalty
                                                  turn here
                                         Y



                                                    Y re-crosses finishing line
                                                     before she completes her
                                                    turn, so she does not finish











                                                Y starts penalty
                                                    turn here
                                         Y





                                                           Y completes her turn before
                                                             she re-crosses finishing
                                                             line and so she finishes













               Question 4
               If a boat re-crosses the finishing line before completing her penalty, what should
               the race committee and the umpires do?







               Section K - The Finish
   89   90   91   92   93   94   95   96   97   98   99