Page 96 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 96

TR CALL  K2


               Rule 20          Room to Tack at an Obstruction


               Question

               Y and B are overlapped and beating on port tack towards the committee boat at
               the starboard end of the finishing line.

               B can fetch the committee boat but Y, the leeward boat, cannot. Y sails up to
               this boat and hails for room to tack. B does not respond. Y hails a second time,
               luffs and passes head to wind, whereupon B tacks and protests. What should the
               call be?








                                                                        Y4
                                                           B4




                                                          B3
                                                                      Y3


                                                                  Y2
                                                 B2



                                                                 Y1

                                         B1




               Answer

               Penalize both.

               Because B can fetch the committee boat, which is a mark, Y is not entitled to
               hail for room to tack. Y breaks rule 20.1 by hailing. However, when a boat hails
               for room to tack, rule 20.2(b) requires  the hailed boat to respond to the hail
               regardless of whether it meets the requirements of rule 20.1. B fails to do so and
               breaks rule 20.2(b).






               Section K - The Finish
   91   92   93   94   95   96   97   98   99   100   101