Page 99 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 99

TR CALL  L3

               Rule 10          On Opposite Tacks
               Rule D1.2(a)  Protests
               Rule D1.3(c)   Penalties, Rules between Team-Mates
               Rule D2.3(b)  Penalties Initiated by an Umpire


               Question

               On a beat to windward, A is ahead of Y on port tack. B is on starboard tack on a
               collision course with A. Y is keeping clear by sailing to pass astern of B. When
               3 lengths from A, B bears away to a collision course with Y. Y does not
               immediately need to change course.   When B passes astern of A, there is
               contact. Y tacks and protests. What should the call be?































               Answer

               Penalize A.

               The protest by Y is valid under rule D1.2(a) because there is contact between
               boats of the other team.  Rule D1.3(c) does not apply. Penalize the boat that
               breaks a rule.  In this case, A breaks rule 10.

               If there is no protest, the umpires may act under rule D2.3(b) and penalize the
               boat that breaks a rule.










               Section L - Other Rules
   94   95   96   97   98   99   100   101   102   103   104