Page 86 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 86

TR CALL  J3

               Rule 11          On the Same Tack, Overlapped
               Rule 18.2        Giving Mark-Room
               Rule 21          Exoneration


               Question

               B is on a reach clear ahead of Y when she enters the zone of a leeward mark.
               B’s course will take her to windward of the mark. She slows, and Y becomes
               overlapped to leeward and about ½ boat’s width from her. B now bears away
               hard to round the mark. Y reacts promptly, but is unable to give room. Y
               protests. What should the call be?









                                                            B2          B1

                                                 B3



                                                                  Y2                    Y1
                                                        Y3





               Answer

               Penalize Y.

               Y must give B room to sail to the mark. At position 2, she fails to do so and
               breaks rule 18.2(b).

               When B bears away after position 2, she breaks rule 11 (a rule of Section A).
               However, her course alteration is consistent with sailing her course to the mark
               and, because she is sailing within the mark-room to which she is entitled, B is
               exonerated under rule 21.










               Section J - The Leeward Mark
   81   82   83   84   85   86   87   88   89   90   91