Page 82 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 82
TR CALL H4
Rule 18.1 When Rule 18 Applies
Rule 18.2 Giving Mark-Room
Rule 22.2 Taking a Penalty
Question 1
B on port tack is well ahead of Y and within two hull lengths of the mark, which
is to be left to starboard. B then takes an anti-clockwise one-turn penalty.
Shortly after B completes her penalty, Y is within the zone and has an inside
overlap on B. Y hails for mark-room. B gives room and protests. What should
the call be?
QUESTION 1
B4 B3
Y4
B5
B1 B2
Y5
Y6
B6
Answer 1
No penalty.
When B passes head to wind between positions 2 and 3, rule 18.2(b) ceases to
apply (see rule 18.2(d)) and B is no longer entitled to mark-room. Furthermore,
when B leaves the zone in position 3, neither boat is in the zone and rule 18
ceases to apply. While B is taking her penalty, she is subject to rule 22.2, and is
keep-clear boat. Before position 4 the boats become overlapped and, when she
completes her penalty at position 5, she remains keep-clear boat, now under rule
11. When one of the boats then reaches the zone, rule 18 applies again and B, as
the outside boat, is also required to give Y mark-room under rule 18.2(b).
Section H - The Gybe Mark