Page 108 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 108

At position 6, B is no longer sailing on another leg of the course than Y, because
               Y has returned to the previous leg (see TR Call L6) and B has not yet rounded
               the mark, nor is she sailing towards the next mark.

               Question 2

               The boats are at a leeward mark to be rounded to port. Y has rounded the mark
               and is on the leg to the next mark. As B enters the zone, Y bears away to gybe
               and sail back to the mark in order to trap B. B rounds the mark and starts sailing
               to the next mark. After position 3, Y luffs to a collision course with B. Both
               boats luff head to wind and there is no contact. Blue protests. What should the
               call be?


































               Answer 2

               No penalty.

               At position 4, B is rounding the mark on the required side and is sailing towards
               the next mark. The boats are no longer  on different legs. Rule 24.2 does not
               apply. B is subject to rule 10 and Y  must comply with rule 16.1 when she
               changes course. B keeps clear by luffing and Y complies with rule 16.1 by
               luffing to enable B to keep clear.












               Section L - Other Rules
   103   104   105   106   107   108   109   110   111   112   113