Page 111 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 111

TR CALL  M1


               Rule 60.1        Right to Protest and Request Redress
               Rule D1.2(a)  Right to Protest
               Rule D1.3(c)  Contact Between Boats on the Same Team
               Rule D2.4        Umpired Races: Signalling a Decision


               Question 1

               A member of one team witnesses contact between two boats on the other team
               and she protests. What should the call be?

               Answer 1

               Because there was contact between two  boats on the other team, the boat is
               entitled to protest under rule 60.1 as modified by rule D1.2(a) although she was
               not involved in the incident. Penalize the boat that broke a rule.

               Question 2

               Boat A makes contact with boat Y and protests her. The umpires judge that a
               third boat B is at fault and has broken a rule. What should the call be?

               Answer 2

               Penalize boat B.

               There is no requirement on the protesting boat to identify correctly the boat that
               has broken a rule. Provided the protest is correctly made, the umpires will judge
               the incident, and penalize any boat(s) that have broken a rule.


























               Section M - The Umpiring Process
   106   107   108   109   110   111   112   113   114   115   116