Page 114 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 114

TR CALL  M4


               Rule 11          On the Same Tack, Overlapped
               Rule 18.2        Giving Mark-Room


               Question

               At a starboard-hand leeward mark, Y  and B are sailing on a close reach,
               overlapped on starboard tack, when they reach the zone. A is approaching the
               mark on a beam reach, sailing faster but just clear astern of Y and B when they
               reach the zone.

               B bears away which gives A room to round the mark inside her. Y protests.
               What should the call be?






                                                             A2                  A1



                                                B2
                                                                B1




                                         Y2
                                                     Y1




               Answer

               Penalize B.

               B is keep-clear boat with respect to Y, but Y must give her mark-room. Because
               A is clear astern when Y and B reach the zone, she must give mark-room to both
               B and Y.

               In causing Y to give extra room for A to round inside her, B breaks rule 11.













               Section M - The Umpiring Process
   109   110   111   112   113   114   115   116   117   118   119