Page 116 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 116
TR CALL M6
Rule 21 Exoneration
Rule 64.1(a) Penalties and Exoneration
Rule D1.3(a) Penalties, Taking a Voluntary Penalty
Rule D2.4 Signals by an Umpire
Rule D2.5(c) Two-flag Protest Procedure: Requesting a Decision
Question 1
The two-flag protest procedure in rule D2.5 applies. There is a Part 2 incident
between B and Y. B protests Y by immediately hailing ‘Protest Y’ and
displaying a red flag. B then takes a One-Turn penalty. After finishing her
penalty, B displays a yellow flag and hails ‘Umpire’. What should the call be?
Answer 1
When B requests an umpire decision in accordance with rule D2.5(c) the
umpires shall signal a decision in accordance with rule D2.4.
Case 1: The umpires decide that B broke a rule. B has already taken a penalty
as described in rule D1.3(a) Therefore, she shall not be further
penalized. Signal ‘No penalty’.
Case 2: The umpires decide that Y broke a rule. The penalty taken by B does
not exonerate Y. Penalize Y.
Case 3: The umpires decide that both B and Y broke a rule and that rules 21 and
64.1(a) do not apply. B has already taken a penalty as described in rule
D1.3(a). Therefore, she shall not be further penalized. Penalize Y only.
Case 4: The umpires decide that no boat broke a rule. Signal ‘No penalty’.
Question 2
The situation is as in question 1, except that both boats protest each other, and
both boats display a yellow flag and hail ‘Umpire’ after B has taken a penalty.
Does that change the call?
Answer 2
No. Provided the umpires decide that the two protests are for the same incident,
they only make one decision and signal in accordance with the procedure
described in answer 1.
Section M - The Umpiring Process