Page 112 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 112

TR CALL  M2


               Rule 61.1(a)  Informing the Protestee


               Question 1

               There is a possible incident between boats B and Y, neither of which protest at
               that time. Another boat on B’s team shouts 'Protest! Go ahead and protest!' As a
               result of that advice, B protests. Is this protest valid?

               Answer 1

               No. Signal ‘No penalty’. In order to comply with rule 61.1(a), a boat intending
               to protest must hail the other boat and conspicuously display a red flag at the
               first reasonable opportunity for each. If the protest is made in response to the
               advice from another boat on her team, it is not at the first reasonable opportunity
               for each.

               Question 2

               A boat intends to protest, but fails to  follow the correct procedure. She then
               continues to hail 'Umpire', seeking a decision to the invalid protest. What will
               the umpires do?

               Answer 2

               Signal ‘No penalty’. Even though no valid protest has been submitted, it is
               appropriate to signal clearly to the competitor that no penalty will be given.






























               Section M - The Umpiring Process
   107   108   109   110   111   112   113   114   115   116   117